Saturday, May 28, 2016

Tales of Decolonization

Once again I've been invited to speak at the United Nations Regional Seminar for the Special Committee on Decolonization. I've spoken at this seminar as an expert twice before, in Ecuador in 2013 and in Nicaragua in 2015. This year the seminar will once again be held in Nicaragua.

I will be providing updates on the decolonization movement in Guam and also providing an overview of the different positions on decolonization for the three major candidates for president of the United States.

I'll be writing about my experiences and interactions under the label of "Tales of Decolonization" or "ToD" on this blog. Keep coming back throughout the week to learn more.

Press release for the regional seminar is pasted below:


27 May 2016

Special Committee on Decolonization to Hold Pacific Regional Seminar in Managua, Nicaragua, 31 May - 2 June

The Special Committee on Decolonization will hold the 2016 Pacific Regional Seminar in Managua, Nicaragua from 31 May to 2 June with a view to accelerating action in implementation of the third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism (2011‑2020).

The Seminar is held under the auspices of the Special Committee, which is formally known as the Special Committee on the Situation with regard to the Implementation of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and People, also known as the Special Committee of 24 or simply as C-24.

The theme of the 2016 Seminar is “Commitments and Actions for Decolonization in the Non-Self-Governing Territories”. 

There are 17 Non-Self-Governing Territories under the purview of the Special Committee:  American Samoa, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), French Polynesia, Gibraltar, Guam, Montserrat, New Caledonia, Pitcairn, Saint Helena, Tokelau, Turks and Caicos Islands, United States Virgin Islands and Western Sahara. The administering Powers are France, New Zealand, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Taking into consideration recent developments in the Pacific, Caribbean and other areas, the Seminar will review the situation with respect to the 17 territories, including the issue of support from various organizations within the United Nations system and other organizations.

The Seminar’s conclusions and recommendations will be considered by the Special Committee at its June substantive session, and subsequently transmitted to the General Assembly.

Ambassador Rafael Darío Ramírez Carreño of Venezuela, Chairman of the Special Committee, will preside over the Seminar.

Seminar participants invited include a Special Committee delegation comprising the Bureau and members of regional groups, United Nations Member States, including administering Powers, as well as representatives of the Non-Self-Governing Territories, civil society and non-governmental organizations, and experts.

The 29 members of the Special Committee are Antigua and Barbuda, Bolivia, Chile, China, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Dominica, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Fiji, Grenada, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Mali, Nicaragua, Papua New Guinea, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sierra Leone, Syria, Timor-Leste, Tunisia, United Republic of Tanzania and Venezuela.

The 2016 annual Secretariat working papers on each Non-Self-Governing Territory are available on the United Nations decolonization website at

A dispute exists between the Governments of Argentina and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland concerning sovereignty over the Falkland Islands (Malvinas).

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails